ministry

Christian Women in Business – Ashley Stock

I am so excited to introduce you to Ashley Stock. Full time Mom to Samuel (3), Wife to Nicholas (?), blogger, Kingdom creative, photographer and baker. Ashley and Nicholas are lovers of Jesus and serve Him faithful as leaders in their church. Ashley is currently filming Calvary’s first live online series called Living Logos. Each episode features various Christian leaders coming together to discuss modern day issues relating to modern day Church. Ashley is the owner, founder and baker behind Ma-Shoo-Gah. I hope you will enjoy getting to know her as much as I have.

Tell me who Ashley Stock is? What is her essence?

Is porridge an essence?

Is essence of porridge a thing? Just kidding! I only say so because its soft. If I can tell you one thing as an insider about Ashley Stock, its that she is super soft. (Like porridge 😉) I strive to be kind. I can’t stand people being unkind, Its so against God’s nature. I’m pretty serious about humor too. If I can make you laugh, I’ve done my job. Words. Oh words! They can be beautiful and mean. Something that is written beautifully is art. I’m convinced by it. I strive for it.

And last but not least, Ashley Stock loves her two guys.
My husband Nicholas and my son Samuel. Becoming a wife changed me and challenged me, but becoming a mommy! A totally different ball game.

How did you meet Jesus?

I’ve never placed any significance on my story of coming to know Jesus because its so common. But the more I journey with Jesus the more I see why its so significant to our relationship.

Que story:

Of course it started in heart ache! A boy was to blame and still being in high-school I see now that I was such a baby at that tender age of 14. My heartache was so real. I didnt feel whole and I hadn’t found myself by then (not sure I have completely found myself now if I’m being honest). The safest place for me to turn to was to Jesus. A God who I vaguely knew about and a Man that I had no clue of. Time and again out of my place of vulnerability I found myself in the Presence of a gentle and kind God. A God who wanted to know about my hurt, a God who listened and expected nothing but trust in return. And the rest is history. I see now why the beginning of Jesus and I is so important. The foundation on which our relationship was built was Trust, Love, and Refuge. And when I have wondered off from Jesus or when I don’t know where to begin with Him I turn to the foundation of us. Trust, Love and Refuge.

What is your favourite scripture and why?

Gosh, no pressure. I just have the entire Bible at my disposal to come out the other side with one favorite….. 😆

God is merciful and gracious!

I can say with certainty that I LOVE the Old Testament. Even though God spoke so rarely, what He said echoes through our days in this age. Its beautiful. Favorite books are definitely Samuel 1 and 2. Its a beautiful story that starts with a woman in desperate need of a living God. God shows up and moves His hand and the repercussions of His actions are breathtaking and demands holy recognition.

But if I simply HAVE to pick one it would be Exodus 34:6-7
“The Lord, the Lord, a God merciful and gracious, slow to anger and abounding in steadfast love and faithfulness, keeping steadfast love for thousands, forgiving iniquity and transgression and sin …”

I love this because its God making an account of himself. Its not hearsay or second hand knowledge. Its directly from God himself assuring me (all of us) that he is kind and gracious and merciful and just amazing, like no other god or man. I’m not sure how anyone chooses against this God.

What was the inspiration behind Mahshoogah?

I didn’t intend to start Ma-Shoo-Gah. One Christmas season I wanted to surprise friends and family with a cookie box. Beautifully wrapped with different kinds of cookies. And from there I got into decorative cookies and the end result of all of that was Ma-Shoo-Gah.

Ma-Shoo-Gah all started with a gift!

What is your favourite thing about baking? What is your least favourite?

My absolute favorite is the decorating. There is just something about putting your vision onto a cookie and it turns out just right.

Ugh the colouring ! Trying to get the right coloured icing in the right amount and the right consistency is my least favorite. To me, its a nightmare!

Do you think your creativity in business is also your ministry? If yes, why would you say so?

I didn’t at first but then I did a set of baby shower cookies for friends of ours and I prayed over their family through the whole process, from baking to decorating to packaging. And from there I try pray over each family and individual that I get an order from. Prayer is our direct contact to God. He hears us, He listens intently, He welcomes the conversation.

I pray over each family.

Describe your creative process?

One word : Pinterest.

Oh how I love Pinterest! I surf a bit to find an idea, suss it out to see if its doable and then I do it. When I get an order for something specific I make sure to be upfront and honest with them about whether or not I am capable of the creativity behind the order.

How important do you think it is to keep Christ in your business and why?

Out of 10 I would say 12.

He is the source of my skill and the provision of my business. I didn’t even know I was capable of such creativity until 2 years ago. If you read Daniel’s story in the Bible you see that God’s favor followed him, and one of the ways that that favor was shown to him was though success. Daniel succeeded with anything he put his hands to.

So I trust that I remain in God’s favor when it comes to my business.

What are your words to live by?

My words to live by: Be kind and hold the world loosely!

Be kind and hold the world loosely.
Gosh I’m far from living those words out. But this is my desire.

Proverbs 25:15: “Through patience a ruler can be persuaded, and a gentle tongue can break a bone…”
Proverbs 16:24: “Gracious words are like a honeycomb, sweetness to the soul and health to the body”

Lastly, what advice would you give to other woman who are business owners?

Don’t be pressured to expand or do what you are not comfortable with. If you aren’t ready then just don’t do it. And secondly don’t presume that everyone judges you negatively. I know that I lack confidence and it does show up in my work. Lack of confidence holds me back and boy its a struggle to shrug it off !

Let that creativity flow freely!

Ashley Stock Photo credit: Vintage Heart Photography

You can follow Ashley and check out her delicious creative baked goods by clicking on the inks below:

Facebook: Ma-Shoo-Gah

Instagram: Ma-Shoo-Gah

Leave a comment